Dame Deborah James launches The Sun’s annual Who Cares Wins Awards 2022 in partnership with NHS Charities Together

On 30th May 2022
Categories: 2022

We have partnered for a second year with the The Sun for their annual Who Cares Wins awards, to honour our extraordinary healthcare workforce who continue to be there for us, from the pandemic and beyond.

Longtime supporter and judge of The Sun’s annual Who Cares Wins health awards Dame Deborah James heartfeltly launched this year’s health awards to celebrate our health heroes. Nominations are now open for the public to give recognition to the hard work of extraordinary people within our health workforce – from the nurses, doctors, and paramedics on the frontline, to the vital staff who keep everything running, and those volunteering to support their local services.

Dame Deborah James said: “For the last five years, I’ve been so honoured to be a judge at the awards, present awards and meet all the incredible nominees. It’s an incredible event and gives us all the chance to give our NHS heroes the recognition they deserve.

“While I might not be around for this year’s awards, I want to have one last say: Please, nominate the NHS heroes who have gone above and beyond for you, show them how much they mean to us all, and let us all thank them. And to all those NHS workers who have been there for me over the last five years, I just want to say thank you, from the bottom of my heart.”

The annual awards were set up in 2017 as a way for readers to celebrate their NHS and healthcare heroes and are now in their fifth year, after being pioneered by The Sun’s late Health Editor Christina Newbury, who died suddenly, aged 31. The Christina Newbury Memorial Award is named in her honour.

Last year, we partnered with The Sun and Channel 4, where the star-studded ceremony was hosted by Davina McCall and attended by our Royal Patron HRH The Duke of Cambridge, Prime Minister Boris Johnson and David Beckham. Details of this year’s ceremony will be revealed in due course.

Victoria Newton, Editor-in-Chief of The Sun, said: “Deborah has campaigned tirelessly on behalf of the NHS, using her Sun column to raise awareness of the lack of funding for cancer care during the pandemic and raising millions for cancer research since her diagnosis. She has been a constant supporter of our Who Cares Wins health awards and so I’m very honoured that she is launching this year’s awards. I can’t think of anyone better. Debs has captured the hearts of the nation with her story and she’s done so much to recognise the brilliant work of the NHS, as well as give hope to all those living with and touched by cancer.”

Ellie Orton OBE, Chief Executive of NHS Charities Together, said: “Deborah has been an inspiration to us all we’re delighted to join her and The Sun in launching this year’s Who Cares Wins Awards. The NHS has had yet another heroic year, as our workforce had a mountain to climb, with immense pressure on our services and lengthy waiting lists alongside high expectations to recover from the pandemic. Every one of us has a reason to be thankful to the NHS and having the opportunity to celebrate some of our heroes is incredibly special.”

The full list of categories is:

  • BEST DOCTOR – an NHS GP, hospital doctor or consultant
  • BEST MIDWIFE – an NHS midwife who has provided great care for a woman or her baby
  • BEST TEAM – any NHS or healthcare team on the front line or behind the scenes that has gone above and beyond the call of duty
  • BEST NURSE – an NHS nurse in any field
  • BEST HEALTH CHARITY – a health charity that has helped you or a loved one
  • UNSUNG HERO – a person who gives up their time to volunteer at a health charity, hospital, hospice or similar
  • YOUNG HERO – open to under-18s, a person who has gone above and beyond. It could be a carer, campaigner or someone else.
  • THE CAROLINE FLACK MENTAL HEALTH HERO – for a significant contribution to mental health
  • 999 HERO – an emergency services worker or team whose bravery or quick thinking deserves recognition
  • CHRISTINA NEWBURY MEMORIAL AWARD – while the previous awards are all open for reader nominations, the judges will also recognise special achievement through this award in memory of our late Health Editor Christina Newbury, who was instrumental in establishing Who Cares Wins.

The closing date for nominations is 12 July 2022. If there is someone you think deserves recognition for their incredible work over the past 12 months, you can find out more information and submit an entry at thesun.co.uk/whocareswins.

Related Posts