NHS Charities Together partners with The Sun and Channel 4 for the Who Cares Wins Awards 2021

On 21st June 2021
Categories: 2021

NHS Charities Together has partnered with The Sun and Channel 4 to hold the Who Cares Wins Awards, to say thank you to all the healthcare heroes, key workers and ordinary people who have got us through a challenging year.

This will be the first partnership with Channel 4, who will broadcast the awards later this year, and see the return of the partnership with The Sun, for whom their generous readers raised over £1m last year to get vital support to staff in their hour of need.

The awards were set up in 2017 as a way for The Sun readers to celebrate their NHS and healthcare heroes, and now in their fourth year after being pioneered by their late Health Editor Christina Newbury, who died suddenly, aged 31. The Christina Newbury Memorial Award is named in her honour.

Victoria Newton, editor-in-chief of The Sun, said:

“The Sun’s Who Cares Wins awards has always celebrated our NHS heroes, and that’s why we’re so pleased to be partnering with Channel 4 and NHS Charities Together this year to make Who Cares Wins even bigger, after such an extraordinary effort by our health care key workers. There is a crucial public interest in commemorating those who went above and beyond to keep us safe, and I look forward to celebrating the tremendous effort given by those people in such challenging circumstances.”

Ellie Orton, chief executive of NHS Charities Together, said:

“Thank you to the Sun and Channel 4 for this chance to highlight the NHS staff, volunteers and charity workers who have been there for us throughout the Covid crisis, their commitment, the sacrifices they have made and the toll it has taken on them. There are so many powerful stories to tell, and this is an opportunity to tell them and show how much we appreciate what they have done and continue to do for all of us.”

Prime Minister Boris Johnson was at the last awards in 2019 to honour two porters who saved baby Logan Clifford when he stopped breathing. He said:

“Through my own battle with Covid, I saw first-hand quite how brilliant our NHS is. I can’t wait to meet all of the worthy winners in person, hear their stories, and give them my very personal thanks.”

The winners of the Who Cares Wins Awards 2021 will be revealed at a star-studded ceremony later this year. The awards host, location and date will be revealed in due course.

The full list of award categories are:

1. Best Doctor, 2. Best Nurse, 3. Best Team, 4. Unsung Hero, 5. Best Midwife, 6. Ultimate Lifesaver, 7. Young Hero, 8. Groundbreaking Pioneer, 9. Mental Health, 10. The Christina Newbury Memorial Award, 11. Best Health Charity, and 12. 999 Hero

Nominate a winner

We want you to nominate the selfless medics, researchers and volunteers who made a difference to your life. It could be the paramedic who rushed to your aid, or midwife who eased a difficult birth. Tell us what they did and why you think they’d be a worthy winner at thesun.co.uk/whocareswins.


Related Posts